WhatsApp won’t let you send or open ‘View Once’ messages on the Desktop soon
One of the biggest privacy features of WhatsApp is its “View Once” messages, which let users send private images or other types of material that can only be viewed once before almost disappearing. When screenshots were prohibited from ‘View Once’ messages earlier this year, the function also introduced another degree of privacy.
However, WhatsApp’s web client may still be launched on laptops and desktops, opening up a number of security flaws that might make it possible to screen-capture these private chats on larger screens. The option to send or open “View Once” messages on WhatsApp for Desktop, Windows, and MacOS has now been removed by WhatsApp in order to remedy issue.
According to a recent report by WABetaInfo, the modification is already being made for WhatsApp beta users on these platforms and may soon be applied to stable versions of the well-known chat programme.
The modification will also have the additional benefit of serving as a barrier, preventing users from opening potentially private messages on larger screens where the media may be seen by nearby people.