WhatsApp

WhatsApp is altering your privacy settings, know about it more

Technology

When it comes to Privacy Settings, WhatsApp currently offers three options to its users. Last Seen, Profile Photo, and About sections are among the options. These options are Everyone (everyone can see these features for a user); My Contacts (only people in the user’s contact list can see updates to these features); and Nobody (no one, not even people in the user’s contact list, can access it). According to reports, the Meta-owned messaging app is adding a fourth option to the mix.

WhatsApp is adding ‘My Contacts Except…’ to the mix, according to WABetaInfo, a blog that tracks app developments. This option is identical to the one available in the privacy settings for Groups and Status updates, and it is open to all WhatsApp beta Android users running version 2.21.23.14.

We first learned that the messaging app was working on this feature in September of this year. According to reports, WhatsApp has begun rolling out the ‘My Contacts Except…’ privacy option to its Android beta app users. However, according to the blog, the messaging app only releases the update to a select group of beta testers.

Users can choose who cannot see their information on WhatsApp by selecting the ‘My contacts except…’ option. Users who have disabled the Last Seen option for specific contacts will not see their Last Seen updates. This exception for Last Seen does not apply to the About and Profile Photo sections.

Separately, WhatsApp has made a new default message timer available to Android beta app users. According to the blog, WhatsApp users can set recent expiration times for disappearing chats of 24 hours and 90 days with this update. This is in addition to the existing seven-day limit on disappearing messages.