T20 Cricket World Cup

T20 Cricket World Cup kicks off today, so find out more about it!

Sports Trending

Any sport’s World Cup has its own exhilaration. The ICC T20 World Cup is referred to as the World T20 in cricket. Cricket teams from all around the world will be vying for the crown shortly.

Every five years, the shortest format of cricket has its World Cup. It was scheduled for 2018 following the 2016 World T20, but the ICC canceled it due to the bilateral series of many sides.

The ICC Champions Trophy was also held in 2017 in the meantime. The next World T20 was scheduled for 2020 after the 2018 event was postponed due to the corona illness. As a result, this tournament was canceled for 2020.

After a five-year hiatus, this event is finally taking place. The event was initially scheduled to be held in India, but the location was changed to the United Arab Emirates owing to a Covid infection.

T20 Cricket World Cup Matches are scheduled to last for how many days exactly?

29 days are expected for the World T20 match. During this time, 16 clubs will face off in 45 games. The competition will begin on October 17 and conclude on November 14 with the final.

There are four teams in Group A: Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands, and Sri Lanka. The next round will feature the top two teams in each group. Teams from Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea, and Scotland will compete for the top two slots in Group B, making up of the other 16 nations.

Super 12 will begin after that. Except for the top two teams in Group A and Group B, Australia, England, South Africa, and the West Indies will make up Group 1. The second-placed teams from Group B and Group A will compete in Group 2, including India, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and Pakistan. The Super 12 round will feature two teams from the preliminary round.

The teams will once again fight against one another in this round. The semi-finals will include the top two teams from each group, with the winner advancing to the championship game.

This year’s Super-12 championship will get underway on October 23 and go through November 8. There will be a semi-final and a final on November 10 and 11, respectively.

India’s track record in T20 Cricket World Cup

India is currently ranked second in the world in the t20 tournament. Among the top 10 batsmen in the world rankings, only Virat Kohli and KL Rahul can be found, but no Indian bowler or all-rounder is in the top ten. However, India has a stellar World T20 record. So far, India has participated in 33 games and won 20 of them.

Virat Kohli, India’s T20I skipper, has stated he will step down at the end of the current competition. The future of Kohli as India’s captain is in doubt at the moment. The squad has yet to claim an ICC trophy when he is the captain.

Virat Kohli has captained the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League for eight seasons, yet the team has failed to win the trophy even once under his leadership. Virat Kohli faces a significant challenge in the World T20 because of this. With the bat and as captain. Virender Sehwag is also having a hard time scoring runs these days.

Dhoni will serve as a mentor to the young players

As well as Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team will guide him during the World T20. India first won the World T20 title in 2007 under Dhoni’s leadership.

India won the 50-over World Cup and the Champions Trophy under his leadership. Chennai Super Kings won the fourth IPL title on Friday under Dhoni’s captaincy. Having Dhoni’s expertise as a leader and a finisher will benefit the Indian squad in the long run.

According to reports, this is India’s final tournament with head coach Ravi Shastri and his crew. As a result, the Virat Kohli-led team wishes to bid farewell to Ravi Shastri and his staff with a fitting sendoff.

Strength of the Indian team

Rohit Sharma is the team’s deputy captain, following in the footsteps of skipper Virat Kohli. KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, and Surya Kumar Yadav will share the batting duties with these two. Rishabh Pant, the wicketkeeper-batsman, is likewise held to high standards. The Indian team’s aggressive approach might make all the difference.

Selection committee as members of the squad. If Hardik Pandya cannot bowl due to injury, Shardul has been added to the lineup, with Axar Patel being kept as a backup. Meanwhile, Varun Chakraborty and Rahul Chahar will put in the effort to make the most of the possibilities that present themselves.

Additionally, Avesh Khan and Umran Malik have been invited to remain in the UAE following the IPL, as have Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karan Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and K. Gautam. During the World T20, these players will be bowling nets for the Indian squad.

Other teams’ expectations

The West Indies team has several talented T20 players. It’s Kieron Pollard who’s in charge now. These groups can ruin anyone’s game. England’s captain is Eoin Morgan. The English team, meanwhile, appears to be in good shape. The team’s players have done well for a long time, but Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer will be sorely missed.

The players on the New Zealand squad are also top-notch. Fast bowlers are a strong suit for the team. But there’s another category of people who can do everything well. They will attempt to make history by using a format that has never been used before. On this occasion, the Pakistani side also appears to be a formidable contender. Temba Bavuma, the new captain, will lead the Springboks into battle. The Sri Lankan team, on the other hand, is made up mainly of newcomers.

Bangladesh will benefit from playing on a pitch that aids spinners, but Afghanistan’s team will be motivated to play well amid a domestic crisis. The qualifying round teams, on the other hand, are expected to have ups and downs.

Previous victor of T20 Cricket World Cup

India won the inaugural T20 event of the year, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Although Pakistan’s squad lost in the championship game, they went on to win the event the following year.

As a result of this title, England crowned world champions in 2010. It was a complete shock when the West Indies team triumphed in 2012. The Sri Lankan team won the title in 2014, while the West Indies team took the crown in 2016.

There will be $ 1.6 million in prize money for the World T20 champions and $ 8 million for the runners-up. Each of the semi-finalists will get $400,000 in prize money. As a result, winning each of the Super 12 matches will earn you additional bonus money.

What’s new this time around?

During each half, there will be an additional two-drink breaks. There will be two and a half-minute breaks in between each segment. It’ll happen in the middle of the inning, right in the middle. The T20 World Cup will feature a decision review system in which each side receives two reviews per inning.

When and where will the tournament take place?
The event will be held in Muscat, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. IPL games have lately been held in Muscat and the other two cities. This is a long, flat pitch.

Starting their campaign on October 24, India will face off against arch-rival Pakistan. The Indian team will face off against the other two teams from the qualifying round in the next round: New Zealand and Afghanistan.

Live telecast of sporting events
Star Sports and Hot Star will broadcast these games. The afternoon match will begin at 3:30 pm and end at 7:30 pm, respectively.