ICC Awards

ICC Awards: Virat Kohli nominated in 5 categories!

# Headlines Sports Trending

As the second decade of the century finds some conclusion the ICC has declared the nominations for the awards of the decade. India captain Virat Kohli nominated in various categories.

Kohli has been named in 5 categories in the ICC Awards. It includes the awards of the Decade – Player, T20I Player, Test Player, ODI Player, and Spirit of Cricket.

Kohli, Joe Root, Steve Smith and Kane Williamson have done well reliably. They are in the blend alongside Kumar Sangakkara, R Ashwin and AB de Villiers for the Sir Gary Sobers Award. This award is for the Male Cricketer of the Decade.

The India captain crushed his maiden ODI ton on December 24, 2009, against Sri Lanka at the Eden Gardens. It was just about 11 years after the fact he has scored 42 more. Since intersection 1000 runs in a schedule year without precedent for 2011. Kohli has accumulated 10,388 runs in only 202 ODI innings somewhere in the range of 2011 and 2020.

His first Test hundred arrived in a losing cause against Australia at the Adelaide Oval in January 2012. Nonetheless, that didn’t prevent him from scoring 7,240 of every 145 Test inning. The commander midpoints of 53.63 – including 27 centuries and 22 half-hundreds of years.

Kohli, an ODI World Cup champ in 2011, played only one T20I innings before 2011 and is now the main run-getter. 2,794 runs at a normal and strike-pace of 50.80 and 138.25 individually – in the organization in worldwide cricket.

Nominees of ICC Awards

ICC Men’s Player of the Decade
Nominees: AB de Villiers (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India), Joe Root (England), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Steve Smith (Australia)

ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Decade

Nominated cricketers: Aaron Finch (Australia), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Virat Kohli (India), Rohit Sharma (India), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Chris Gayle (West Indies)

ICC Men’s Test Player of the Decade
Nominees: Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India), Joe Root (England), James Anderson (England), Steve Smith (Australia), Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka), Yasir Shah (Pakistan)

ICC Men’s ODI Player of the Decade

Nominated Candidates: AB de Villiers (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Mitchell Starc (Australia), MS Dhoni (India), Rohit Sharma (India), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade

Nominees: Anya Shrubsole (England), Virat Kohli (India), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Katherine Brunt (England), MS Dhoni (India), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand),

The champs will be settled based on the votes the candidates get from the fans far and wide. The ICC opened up the deciding in favour of the fans on Wednesday. It will stay open till 16 December.