House Of The Dragon

House Of The Dragon: All the dragons and their riders explained

Entertainment Interesting

The newest HBO drama, House of the Dragon, is rooted in the Game of Thrones universe and is expected to feature more dragons than its sequel series. The fantastical creatures are anticipated to be included in a considerable amount in House of the Dragon because it is based on George R. R. Martin’s book Fire & Blood. House of the Dragon will be drawing inspiration from a lot of the elements in Fire & Blood and presenting the Targaryens at their most formidable, as will also be the case with the family’s fire-breathing friends.

House of the Dragon and Game of Thrones will have their fair share of changes, notably the number of dragons featured on screen, even if they are both still prequels to HBO’s original show. Only Viserion, Rhaegal, and Drogon, the three dragons owned by Daenerys Targaryen, appeared frequently during the majority of Game of Thrones. However, it has been established that House of the Dragon will have up to 17 different dragons.

This makes sense given the series’ heavy focus on the Targaryen family at their peak of power. The dragons possessed by House Targaryen survived a volcanic eruption in Valyria that destroyed many of the dragons of Westeros. The House of the Dragon timeline depicts the Targaryens’ rule over Westeros following the employment of these dragons to aid in the Targaryens’ conquest of the continent and establishment of the Seven Kingdoms. Here is a synopsis of each of the creatures that will be seen in House of the Dragon, which will undoubtedly make extensive use of the dragons that the family utilised to conquer the Seven Kingdoms.

Caraxes, the dragon of Daemon Targaryen

Daemon Targaryen, who will be portrayed by Matt Smith, will be one of the main characters in House of the Dragon. The show’s main canine protagonist will obviously be Daemon’s dragon friend. Caraxes, the dragon owned by Daemon, is one of the more mature and substantial members of the Targaryen clan. Caraxes is known as the Blood Wyrm because of the red tint of his scales. Aemon Targaryen first sat atop Caraxes, but Aemon was murdered by a crossbow bolt, leaving Caraxes without a rider. The beast was then claimed by Aemon’s nephew Daemon.

Syrax, Rhaenyra Targaryen’s dragon

One of the other prominent characters in House of the Dragon is Rhaenyra Targaryen, who is Daemon’s niece and is portrayed by Ella D’Arcy. Similar to Daemon and Caraxes, Syrax, Rhaenyra’s dragon, will play a significant role in the series. Syrax is bigger than most dragons despite not being as massive or fierce in battle as Caraxes. Given that Syrax’s scales are yellow and that Rhaenyra named her after a Valyrian goddess, it seems likely that Rhaenyra was Syrax’s first rider.

Meleys, the dragon of Rhaenys Targaryen

Princess Rhaenys Velaryon, King Viserys’ cousin, was played by Eva Best in the film House of the Dragon. Meleys is the name of Rhaenys’ dragon, just like that of Rhaenyra and Daemon. Meleys is a vivid red dragon, like Caraxes, which gave her the nickname “The Red Queen.” Meleys, who will be discussed later, is one of the oldest and largest dragons after Vhagar.

Vermithor(Hugh The Hammer’s Dragon)

King Jaehaerys, the grandfather of King Viserys, will be portrayed by Michael Carter, one of the cast members of House of the Dragon. Jaehaerys’ former dragon ride Vermithor will still play a significant role in the drama despite his advanced age. Vermithor, often known as the Bronze Fury, is a bronze dragon that was once Westeros’ third-largest dragon after Balerion and Vhagar. In Fire & Blood, Vermithor is depicted ultimately being ridden by a brute by the name of Hugh the Hammer during the Targaryen civil war known as the Dance of Dragons, to which House of the Dragon would lead.

Sunfyre, the dragon of Aegon Targaryen

Aegon Targaryen, a different figure from House of the Dragon, is named after him in Game of Thrones. As with Game of Thrones, the plot of House of the Dragon will be centred on the Iron Throne, therefore Aegon Targaryen (who would eventually become the King of Westeros) and his dragon Sunfyre will play a role in the programme. Despite being one of the show’s younger dragons, Sunfyre still has a huge stature. Due to his brilliant golden scales, Sunfyre is also known as Sunfyre the Golden. The golden flames that Sunfyre has, which appear to mirror the colour of his scales, are one intriguing aspect of him.

Tessarion, the dragon of Daeron Targaryen

The younger brother of Aegon, Daeron Targaryen, flies Tessarion, a female dragon. Tessarion, like Meleys, is referred to as the Blue Queen because of the deep cobalt blue hue of her wings. She will make an appearance in the HBOMax TV series. Tessarion, like Sunfyre, has flames that glow a vivid blue similar to the colour of her scales. Tessarion’s belly scales and claws, which contrast with the dark blue of the majority of Tessarion’s body, set her out from the other dragons.

 Vhagar, Dragon of Aemond Targaryen

The brother of Daeron and Aegon Targaryen, Aemond, also rides a dragon. Vhagar, one of the three dragons that the Targaryens used to slay the Seven Kingdoms, is ridden by Aemond. Prior to being passed down through the generations to become Aemond’s mount, Vhagar was ridden by Queen Visenya Targaryen during the period of the conquest. Vhagar is one of Westeros’ largest dragons at the time of House of the Dragon, second only to Balerion in size. Vhagar is a bronze-colored dragon with vivid green eyes and green/blue accents.

Dreamfyre, Halaena Targaryen’s dragon

Halaena, the sister of Aemond, Daeron, and Aegon, rides the dragon Dreamfyre, which is a light blue and silver colour. Rhaena Targaryen, the granddaughter of Aegon the Conqueror, rode Dreamfyre for the first time.

Moondancer, one of the younger dragons in House of the Dragon, is ridden by Baela Targaryen. Baela is the daughter of Matt Smith’s Daemon Targaryen. Moondancer was only the size of a warhorse when Baela first mounted her. A slim, green dragon named Moondancer is described as being extremely swift both on land and in the air.

Silverwing: Ulf White, a Targaryen bastard, rides Silverwing during the Dance of the Dragons. Silverwing is his dragon. Alysanne Targaryen, the grandmother of King Viserys, first rode Silverwing, a silver dragon who was placid and incredibly amiable to outsiders.

Vermax, Arrax, and Tyraxes:

Jacaerys, Lucerys, and Joffrey, the three sons of Rhaenyra, ride Vermax, Arrax, and Tyraxes, respectively. Although Harry Collett’s casting as Jacaerys makes Vermax likely to be in House of the Dragon, Lucerys and Joffrey has not yet been cast, thus their dragons might not appear until later seasons.

Seasmoke: A wild silver-grey dragon named Seasmoke resides on Dragonstone, the Targaryen stronghold from the hit television series Game of Thrones. The bastard Addam of Hull eventually claims Seasmoke during the Dance of Dragons. Addam of Hull later gained legitimacy during the Dance as Addam Valeryon.

Sheepstealer: Like Seasmoke, Sheepstealer hails from Dragonstone and is a wild dragon known for his penchant for mutton. Sheepstealer is a mud-brown dragon that has only ever had one rider, Nettles, who tamed him by feeding him new mutton every day until he warmed up to her.