roger federer beat marin cilic,Roger Federer,Marin Cilic,federer 20th grand slam,Australian Open 2018

Australian Open: Roger Federer defeats Cilic, won the 20th Grand Slam title.

# Headlines Sports World

Melbourne, Switzerland’s star tennis player Roger Federer defeated Marin Cilic 6-2, 6-7, 6-3, 3-6 and 6-1 in the marathon match to make his 20th Grand Slam debut. In the final match in Melbourne, Federer won his first, third and 5th set, making his name. He is the most winning Grand Slam player in the men’s singles. Along with this, he also equaled the record of winning the Australian Open, Novak Djokovic of Serbia and Roy Emerson of Australia 6-6 times. Federer reached the Grand Slam final for the 30th time.

The total of 10 competitions have been played so far between the 36 year old Federer and Croatia’s 29 year-old silk known as ‘Ageless Wonder’ by Switzerland. During this time Federer won 9, while only 1 match was the 14th seeded cilic. Silic had defeated Federer in the 2014 US Open.

Challenged by Chung in the semi-finals

Current champion Federer was in the semi-finals of South Korea’s Hayon Chung. In this match Chung was unable to complete the match and Federer got the chance to go to the final. When Chung withdrew the name from the match played on the Rod Laver Arena, Federer was ahead of 6-1, 5-2. During this, Chung got hurt in the foot and he took time to heal. Later he was not in a position to play, and for this reason he withdrew his name from the match.

Big players were out due to injury

In the tournament, world number one Rafael Nadal and former champion Ston Wawrinka could not take part due to injury. Apart from him, Andy Murray, who reached the finals 5 times, also did not participate here. At the same time, at the age of most, Federer did not only win the final, but also won the title by showing tremendous fitness.

5 Greatest Grand Slam Winners

– Roger Federer (Switzerland) – 20 Grand Slam
– Rafael Nadal (Spain) – 15 Grand Slam
– Pete Fras (United States) – 14 Grand Slam
– Roy Emerson (Australia) – 12 Grand Slam
– Novak Djokovic (Serbia) – 12 Grand Slam

Most Australian Open Winners

– Roger Federer (Switzerland) – 6 times
– Roy Emerson (Australia) – 6 times
– Novak Djokovic (Serbia) – 6 times
– Jack Crawford (Australia) – 4 times
– Andre Agassi (USA) – 4 times
– Ken Rosswell (Australia) – 4 times